Michèle Auger is professor in the Department of Chemistry at Université Laval since 1991. She is actively involved in academic, departmental, university and research activities. This section presents a summary of her career highlights. A complete curriculum vitae is availaible by clicking here.



  • B.Sc. Chemistry, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, 1985
  • Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Ottawa (I.C.P. Smith), 1990
  • Postdoctoral stay, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (R.G. Griffin), 1990-1991

Professional Experience

  • Chair of Undergraduate Studies in Chemistry, Université Laval, 2005-2013
  • Chair of Graduate Studies in Chemistry, Université Laval, 2004-2005
  • Professor, Department of Chemistry, Université Laval, 2000-present
  • Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Université Laval, 1996-2000
  • Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Université Laval, 1991-1996

Awards and Scholarships

  • Laureate, Events held in 2017, Cercle des ambassadeurs de Québec, Organization of the 20th ISMAR (International Society for Magnetic Resonance) meeting.
  • Inaugural "Michèle Auger Service Award" for Outstanding Service to the Biophysical Society of Canada (Inaugural award), Biophysical Society of Canada, 2016.
  • Coup de cœur Relève TechnoScience Award, École des protéines, Gala Prix Innovation ADRIQ, 2016.
  • Prix Première Étoile Orientante, École des protéines, Association québécoise d'information scolaire et professionnelle (AQISEP), 2016.
  • Hommage aux innovations sociales for Attraction chimique, Université Laval, 2014
  • Prize for Best Chair of Undergraduate Studies, Université Laval, 2013
  • Relève TechnoScience Award, Attraction chimique, Gala Prix Innovation ADRIQ, 2012.
  • Professeur-étoile Prize, Faculty of Science and Engineering in 1999, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2010, 2011 and 2012
  • Finalist, YWCA Gala Femmes de mérite, Education Category, 2011
  • Best Professor in Chemistry, Gala du mérite étudiant FSG, 2011
  • Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada, 2010
  • Clara Benson Award, Canadian Society for Chemistry in 2007
  • Barringer Award, Spectroscopy Society of Canada in 2002
  • Women's Faculty Award, NSERC from 1991-1996
  • Governor General's Gold Medal, University of Ottawa in 1990
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, NSERC from 1990-1991
  • 1967 Science and Engineering Scholarship, NSERC from 1986-1990